Buying a computer

smoochy boys on tour

Shard

LOMCN Veteran
Veteran
Loyal Member
Jul 12, 2003
Budget of around 700 pounds. Will be used for gaming and listening to music. Speaker card must be 2.1 compatable, and a wireless card must be included (54g).

www.komplett.co.uk
www.scan.co.uk
www.novatech.co.uk

Could the kind person check through these websites and see which is the cheapest for the potential setup?

A monitor must be included, TFT of any size.

Thanks in advance :)

Davyv

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Feb 8, 2004
South Wales
just wondering why u chose an opteron instead of a athlon, so whats the differences, and why did u choose a 128mb GFX card instead of a 256mb since he said hes going to use it for gaming and listening to music? remember im a total noob at pcs so i dno it culd b an amazing 128mb GFX jus i think their mainly rated in that way, n wuldnt a cheap 256mb card beat a gd 128mb card?(i hav no idea lol). also i think of opterons as like a compaq pc jus coz they sound crap n no 1 seems to hav them lol :P

urbanfox

No Brag, Just Fact
Legendary
Davyv said:
just wondering why u chose an opteron instead of a athlon, so whats the differences, and why did u choose a 128mb GFX card instead of a 256mb since he said hes going to use it for gaming and listening to music? remember im a total noob at pcs so i dno it culd b an amazing 128mb GFX jus i think their mainly rated in that way, n wuldnt a cheap 256mb card beat a gd 128mb card?(i hav no idea lol). also i think of opterons as like a compaq pc jus coz they sound crap n no 1 seems to hav them lol :P

Opteron is the same as A64, except it always has 1MB of cache and better stepping. Opteron is also a brand new CPU concerning the s939 desktop market.

That videocard for 100 pounds is the best for 100 pounds. Video ram only means something when the videocard chipset is good. In other words, this 128MB GFX card wipes the floor with say an FX5200 256MB. Video card also has nothing to do with sound.