smoochy boys on tour

Skyline

LOMCN Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Mar 26, 2003
Sheffield
Any help apriciated, I'm not very good with websites etc

I have my own hosting, domain, website ect.

But I'm wanting to buy a new domain, to have a new website using the same hosting I have... If that makes sense?

So I would have 2 domains, 2 websites all on the one host.

How is it done? :S

Shady

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Aug 5, 2004
couldnt you ask your hosting company this? surely they would just set you your chosen domain and webspace and add it to your bill?

Skyline

LOMCN Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Mar 26, 2003
Sheffield
Well I'm not sure if thats what you're meant to do... Or if you do something else, lol.

Zordon

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Apr 26, 2008
Manchester, UK
Normally would mean either logging into your account on the hosting companies website, most have options to add an aditional domain, sometimes its free, more often than not they charge you for a second domain though or failing that, best bet is to call them and discuss what you want with them :)

Alecs

SPQR
VIP
Jan 10, 2009
Europa
You can add more sites and domains in a host. Just make a directory where the second site will be hosted and redirect the domain to that folder. It's pretty easy.

Last edited:

Tai

HEAD CAPTAIN
Staff member
Administrator
May 11, 2003
United Kingdom
Depends who you're with, it's all pretty self explanatory in cPanel though, on the left hand column. It will say 1/3 Domains, 1/10 Subdomains etc etc

I believe (can't really remember) adding your new domain through cPanel will automatically create the new folder for the new website.

Skyline

LOMCN Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Mar 26, 2003
Sheffield
Cheers.

Spoke to my hosting company and it will cost $15. And as you say, just adds a sub dir where the new website lives.

Alecs

SPQR
VIP
Jan 10, 2009
Europa
you referring to subdomains alecs? as Most hosts don't allow more than 1 domain without paying for it