Possible Virus

Tom27

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Sep 15, 2005
Norwich
Hi.
1 thing I'm not really good with is viruses. I have a tenancy to not have any AVG's/Scanners or whatever on my PC.
Yesterday my google chrome randomly stopped working, you could open the internet page but once you type in an address it instantly crashes.
Now my download manager is also saying that its un-installed for some unusual reason.

I can only assume this is a virus?

Any recommendations?
Thanks in advance (Noob help)

EDIT:
I forgot to mention, my InternetExplorer is still fully accessable.

JealY

LOMCN VIP
VIP
Nov 28, 2004
England
I have a tenancy to not have any AVG's/Scanners or whatever on my PC..

I may lock this thread...

Sort it out, there are ample free ones and Microsoft even have their own for free!

As mentioned, run a scan. If nothing pops up reinstall the software.

Tom27

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Sep 15, 2005
Norwich
Tried SpyBot, tried microsoft, done scans & restarted my PC several times and still having no luck.
I can't remove anything via Add/Remove programs, and google chrome is still broken.
However; I've downloaded firefox and it works fine.

Koriban

Addict
Legendary
Loyal Member
Aug 18, 2006
Brighton
Download Malware Bytes Anti malware (free version)

run it.

should solve your problem. What you have is most likely malware.

czeldabolg

LOMCN VIP
VIP
Sep 12, 2005
Staffordshire, UK
Boot the damn thing in safe-mode, do a scan overnight with either malware bytes -> as mentioned above and also get some proper protection. Personally I'm fine with windows firewall / defender, but I do have malware + spybot s&d if i ever get suspicious.

Avast! is an okay one to protect you, same as AVG, ZoneAlarm.

Jacko

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Jul 7, 2011
the netherlands