Euro Mir History

Colin

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Nov 30, 2013
When was Mir launched in UK? What was the beta date and when did it become pay to play subscription? No one seems sure and some ppl are saying before 2000. The piece you have in announcements says it was very [popular in china and korea in 2002 but no details about Euro Mir.

daneo1989

I am Ancient.
Staff member
Dec 5, 2005
UK
MIR2 was launched on 19th September 2001 by Game Network, (an Italian company)
The monthly subscription model was from release.

Skyline

LOMCN Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Mar 26, 2003
Sheffield
Not sure how long BETA was on for before this date.

I started playing early September. I remember this because we went on holiday to Disney Land Florida a few days after I started.
We was in Florida during 9/11. It it basically the only reason I know what date I started playing the game!

When we came home, a couple of days later it became pay to play. I was only 14 so had to pursuade my Mum to play the game so she paid for our shared account!

• Wow
Reactions: Tai and Sanjian

AlyGinTheHouse

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Jan 3, 2014
What i know is DragonServer and that was in 1998 or 1999 and yea was with 14$/mouth so i remember.

mir2pion

TL;DR
Veteran
Feb 21, 2013

Dragon was in beta since April 2001 I think, then probably still in spring went live and because it filled up fast during the summer (I think several hundred pple? like 300 or 400?), GN opened a second, Phoenix server early in September 2001

I believe I joined Phoenix on September 14 2001, maybe in its first week, after I heard about it on another online game Red Moon, also Korean game, my first ever online game (RM was too fast paced game for my taste and mir I was told was more like an RPG where you could doodle if that was your way.