Help Map Editor Query

Nathan

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Aug 23, 2004
Hi all

I have my own Mir2 server I use for just me and my friends. I am brand new to map editing, but interested in using some custom/edited maps.

For some of these maps I am looking to use the main provinces such as Bichon and Mongchon, but I only want my map to contain the province up to the city walls. I have deleted all of the surrounding areas using the map editor, but not sure if there is a way to shrink the map, or transfer what I have over to a blank map? Without a solve I am concerned I will end up with really large blank areas in the map, the minimap and big map?

Hopefully I am just missing something simple, but I have read through the help section on the map editor and there are no commands to suggest anything like this is possible.

Thank you

mir2pion

TL;DR
Veteran
Feb 21, 2013
It is not difficult to transfer part of one map to another map canvas, in your case to a smaller one.
After reading my comments below, if you still want to transfer it, I can explain how to go about it.

But in your case, I would prefer to keep the map and do something about the big and mini maps. If you move the city to a smaller map canvas, you will have to re-do all building doors coordinates and in the server set new coords for SZ area. SZ is easy to redo but the doors are a tedious task.
That's offhand what comes to mind, maybe more things would be affected by the move to a smaller map?

When it comes to minimap, I think that one is not a problem. Just keep some area outside town walls, like the river moat, so when you come to city walls, you still see something beyond them, not just black.
As to big map, I can't quite wrap my mind around it how to make it so it would show just the town (enlarged) in the big map panel and still show your char position on it correctly.