Virtual Machines

Join Discord

jaffar91

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Apr 10, 2011
Hi ladies and gents,

With Sting bringing up a new Mir 3.55 server I've got a huge nostalgia itch that I just cant scratch on my new laptop!

I played mir 2/3 for 8 years on my last laptop and rarely had issues. On my new laptop Mir 3 is unplayable, as even with 4/5 BW mobs on screen I'm two-stepping. Cant imagine what it would be like having tempest on screen to!

I've heard that people have installed VM's and are using XP to play.

I'm no techie (I even had to google what a VM is :rolleyes-new:)

Can someone help a noob out and tell me where to install a VM and also if there's somewhere I can install xp from (or would it come with it)?

Any help would be much appreciated!!!

Pete107

🐑[E]dens-[E]lite🐑
Developer
Dec 10, 2003
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
You may be better dual booting windows xp/7 and windows 10, it depends on the drivers available for your machine however (network drives and so on...) failing that the only solution is a VM which are rather easy to setup, there's plenty of guides available on google/youtube.

Piff1

Legend
Dedicated Member
Apr 17, 2015
Africa
It's easy just download VMware, download a copy of windows XP easy to get on google ( make sure there no code needed ), then set up your virtual machine adding the amount of ram etc you want to dedicate from your computer to your virtual computer, install windows XP, start using. It's all very easy to use once you've downloaded it, i done it first time years ago without any YT videos or help so i'm sure ull be fine xD

Although dual booting in the better option depending on the size of your memory.

idaBigA

Holley Mir 3!!
VIP
Oct 28, 2003
Stoke, UK
Hi Guys,