HDD Problems

Join Discord

kud125

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Aug 18, 2004
hey guys in need of a little bit of help so some advice would be greatly appreciated

heres the situation- i have an old packard bell pc, and because my genius parents decided to buy it from PC world, the windows xp OS is installed on the hard disk and not on a cd

well the HDD has just decided to break down, it goes to load and gets to the windows loading screen, the computer then restarts and tells me i need to backup and replace my hard disk

so we ordered a brand new hard disk drive, if i set the new drive to slave, is there a way to backup the entire contents of the original hard disk to the brand new one set to slave

thanks

AgentSmith

LOMCN Veteran
Veteran
Loyal Member
Jul 30, 2003
Sheffield (S2)
u sure thats a broken hdd im no expert but if your gettin to the loadin windows screen something has to be workin because atm im using a BROKEN hdd if its not workin i can hear it scratchin sometimes and nothing loads from boot. have you enabled S.M.A.R.T i think its called in the bios it tells you on boot if something is wrong with your hdd

Neptune

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Nov 19, 2003
Chester :P
kud125 said:
hey guys in need of a little bit of help so some advice would be greatly appreciated

heres the situation- i have an old packard bell pc, and because my genius parents decided to buy it from PC world, the windows xp OS is installed on the hard disk and not on a cd

well the HDD has just decided to break down, it goes to load and gets to the windows loading screen, the computer then restarts and tells me i need to backup and replace my hard disk

so we ordered a brand new hard disk drive, if i set the new drive to slave, is there a way to backup the entire contents of the original hard disk to the brand new one set to slave

thanks

i got this problem.