Advice on making a new PC

smoochy boys on tour

Liandrin2

Golden Oldie
Golden Oldie
Loyal Member
Jan 14, 2004
So I decided to whip together a new PC for playing some games, nothing too fancy but I want it to run the newer games and last a good year or so.

I've been pricing things up and got some sort of idea of what I think I'm after. I just wondered if anybody has a similar setup (seems a common mid-range setup) and what their experience is with running games?

Also any other recommendations or anything I should change / rethink? The basic setup has:

Code:
Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Q8200 Processor (2.4GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 1066MHz FSB)
8GB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
512MB ATI Radeon HD 4850 Graphics OR 512MB nVIDIA GeForce 9800GTX+

I'm no expert when it comes to this, not sure if the RAMs worth changing? Any advice appreciated really.

I'm willing to splash out more if its worth it or if I won't get the performance I'm after.

Warlock

LOMCN Veteran
Veteran
Loyal Member
Jul 13, 2003
Scotland, UK.
First off it looks like you have the wrong info for that CPU, the question is.. what motherboard do you have? does it support the 1333MHz FSB. But from what ive been reading about it.. if your keeping it at stock speeds and not overclocking(and your mobo supports it) I would go for the Q8200.. if it doesnt the your looking at the Q6600, not much slower but runs a little hotter and a tad louder, also better for Multitasking due to having double the L2 compared to the Q8200. Alough if you are looking to overclock(I doubt it) then i would go with the Q6600, hands down its head and shoulders above the Q8200 in the overclock race.

Intel Core2 Quad Q8200 (2.33GHz, 4MB L2 Cache, 1333MHz FSB)
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz, 8MB L2 Cache, 1066MHz FSB)

I really dont see any need for 8GB of ram dude, its cheap to buy these days so really... its up to you. But what make is that RAM? I suggest getting some of these, very stable and decent sticks.